State Senator Sean J. O'Brien (D-Bazetta) is serving his first term in the Ohio Senate, representing the 32nd District which encompasses Trumbull and Ashtabula Counties and portions of Geauga County.  Senator O’Brien previously served three terms in the Ohio House of Representatives beginning in 2010.

[ Read Full Biography | Download PDF Biography ]

01.18.18 - Senator O'Brien Praises Extradition Of Claudia Hoerig


WARREN – Today, State Senator Sean O’Brien (D-Bazetta) today praised the Brazilian government’s long-awaited decision to extradite Claudia Hoerig to the United States where she will stand trial for the 2007 murder of her husband, Major Karl Hoerig.  


11.29.17 - O'Brien Lauds Passage Of Legislation To Designate 2018 As Ohio's Year Of The Trails


COLUMBUS – State Senator Sean O’Brien (D-Bazetta) announced today that the Ohio Senate unanimously passed Senate Concurrent Resolution 15, which designates 2018 as “Ohio’s Year of the Trails”. 


11.13.17 - Senator O'Brien Commends Release Of Funds To Improve Three State Parks In Northeast Ohio


COLUMBUS – State Sen. Sean J. O’Brien (D-Bazetta) issued the following statement today after the state Controlling Board approved the release of funds to be used for the completion of improvements at three state parks in northeastern Ohio. 


09.27.17 - Senator O'Brien Sponsors Bills To Reform Sentencing And Parole


COLUMBUS – Today, Senator Sean J. O’Brien (D-Bazetta) announced his joint sponsorship with Senator Kevin Bacon (R-Minerva Park) of the “Reagan Tokes Act.” 


Senate District 32

Counties: Ashtabula, Geauga (part), Trumbull

Contact Senator O'Brien

Senate Building
1 Capitol Square, Ground Floor
Columbus, OH 43215
Email Senator O'Brien


Hometown : Bazetta
Party : Democrat